Sansad Ratna Award UPSC NOTE

 Contribution of opposition MP’s to Parliament

  • To understand the Opposition’s contributions, we analysed the record of some of the suspended MPs. Certain MPs, transcending party lines, have made noteworthy contributions to the nation’s legislative landscape with their active involvement, commitment to their constituency and proactive policy-shaping goals.

  • Shashi Tharoor, a three-time Lok Sabha MP (Congress) from Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, has a 94% attendance record, that surpasses national and State averages (79% and 83%). 

  • He was an active participant in 99 debates, the national (45.1) and State (76.1) averages being

45.1 and 76.1, respectively. 

  • Mr. Tharoor introduced 13 Private Member’s Bills, covering crucial topics, which was again well above the average. Mr. Tharoor received the Sansad Ratna Award in 2020.

  • S. Jothimani, Lok Sabha member (Congress) from Tamil Nadu’s Karur constituency, has an attendance record of 74%, actively addressing topics such as employment schemes, amendments, Budget discussions, infrastructure development, and flood relief

  • The 190 questions she has raised concern various sectors, including renewable energy, agriculture, education, health care, and social justice

  • As a newcomer, Ms. Jothimani has introduced Private Member Bills on menstrual hygiene and paternity benefits.

  • Manoj Kumar Jha, Rajya Sabha MP (Rashtriya Janata Dal) from Bihar has a 97% participation rate

  • He has raised 347 questions and six Private Member’s Bills, which include legislative reforms such as the Prevention of Torture Bill, 2022, and 0the Right to Health Bill, 2021

  • With accolades such as the Lokmat and Sansad Ratna Parliamentary Awards, Mr. Jha’s parliamentary journey began with his recognition as best debutant parliamentarian.

  • The attendance record of Supriya Sule, the Nationalist Congress Party’s three-time MP from Maharashtra’s Baramati constituency is 93%,.

  • Ms. Sule has been active in 238 debates, raising 609 questions, and introducing 16 Private Member’s Bills, including The Census (Amendment) Bill, 2022, and The Protection of Rights of Widows and Single Women Bill, 2022. She won the 2021 Sansad Ratna Award.

  • Gaurav Gogoi, Lok Sabha MP (Congress) for Kaliabor in Assam, has a 75% attendance rate, and has actively participated in 74 debates and raised 237 questions

  • Noteworthy are his five Private Member’s Bills on air quality management, company regulations, energy conservation, and pollution control

  • Mr. Gogoi was awarded the Best Parliamentarian Award in 2018.

  • Vandana Hemant Chavan, Rajya Sabha MP (NCP) from Maharashtra, has a 78% attendance rate

  • Involved in 334 debates and posing 687 questions, she introduced five Private Member’s Bills on diverse social issues, winning the Lokmat Award and the title of Best Woman Parliamentarian in 2022.

  • Derek O’Brien, Rajya Sabha MP (All India Trinamool Congress) from West Bengal has a 81% attendance rate, having participated in 315 debates and raised 1,001 queries

  • He introduced seven Private Member Bills focusing on education, digital literacy, and public health, receiving the Lokmat Parliamentary Award in 2022.

  • Kunwar Danish Ali, Lok Sabha MP (Bahujan Samaj Party) from Uttar Pradesh’s Amroha constituency, despite his recent suspension from the party, has had a 97% attendance rate.

  • He has been involved in 140 debates, raising 205 questions, and introducing two Private Member’s Bills. 

What is Sansad Ratna award?

  • The Sansad Ratna Awards are a unique initiative recognizing and honoring the outstanding performance of Indian parliamentarians

  • To acknowledge and appreciate the exemplary contribution of Members of Parliament (MPs) towards effective functioning of the Indian Parliament.

  • To encourage excellence and dedication among parliamentarians, setting a high standard for public service.

  • Sansad Ratna Awards: Awarded annually to individual MPs for their overall performance in the Lok Sabha (Lower House) and Rajya Sabha (Upper House) based on various criteria.

  • Sansad Maha Ratna Awards: Presented once every five years to MPs who demonstrate consistent excellence throughout their term in the Lok Sabha.

  • A distinguished Jury Committee, often led by eminent personalities, evaluates the performance of MPs using a comprehensive set of criteria.

  • Factors considered include attendance, participation in debates, questions raised, bills introduced, committee work, and overall contribution to parliamentary proceedings.

  • Instituted in 2010, inspired by former President APJ Abdul Kalam.

  • The only award bestowed by civil society specifically for parliamentarians in India.

  • Considered a prestigious recognition of dedication and service to the nation.



Amritsar,1,Art & Culture,1,August 2023,251,Courses,7,Daily Current Affairs,48,December 2023,189,Disaster Management,2,Environment and Ecology,54,February 2024,188,Foundation Course,1,GDP,1,GEMS Club,1,GEMS Plus,1,Geography,67,Govt Schemes,2,GST,1,History,2,Home,3,IAS Booklist,1,Important News,71,Indian Economy,46,Indian History,2,Indian Polity,56,International Organisation,12,International Relations,58,Invasive Plant,1,January 2024,240,July 2023,281,June 2022,6,June 2023,268,May 2022,17,Mentorship,2,November 2023,169,October 2023,203,Places in News,2,Science & Technology,66,September 2023,205,UPSC CSE,111,
Learnerz IAS | Concept oriented UPSC Classes in Malayalam: Sansad Ratna Award UPSC NOTE
Sansad Ratna Award UPSC NOTE
Learnerz IAS | Concept oriented UPSC Classes in Malayalam
Loaded All Posts Not found any posts VIEW ALL Readmore Reply Cancel reply Delete By Home PAGES POSTS View All RECOMMENDED FOR YOU LABEL ARCHIVE SEARCH ALL POSTS Not found any post match with your request Back Home Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat January February March April May June July August September October November December Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec just now 1 minute ago $$1$$ minutes ago 1 hour ago $$1$$ hours ago Yesterday $$1$$ days ago $$1$$ weeks ago more than 5 weeks ago Followers Follow THIS PREMIUM CONTENT IS LOCKED STEP 1: Share to a social network STEP 2: Click the link on your social network Copy All Code Select All Code All codes were copied to your clipboard Can not copy the codes / texts, please press [CTRL]+[C] (or CMD+C with Mac) to copy Table of Content